ICMPC SEMPRE: Young Researcher Award

The Young Researcher Award was established in 2008 by ICMPC jointly with SEMPRE (the Society for Education, Music and Psychology Research). Since then, it is awarded to students and young (meaning “new”) researchers who submit a high quality research paper and demonstrate the potential to be leading researchers in the field of Music Perception and Cognition. The selection process involves a panel of senior researchers who evaluate full papers; the exact selection process depends on the conference. Award winners are granted a small cash prize and the opportunity to present their work at special plenary sessions. The aim of this award is to motivate students and early-career researchers to contribute influential and original work to the field.

Recipients, Panels, and Sponsors in the Past Conferences
(Thessaloniki, Greece), sponsored by SEMPRE
Birgitta Burger: Emotions move us: Basic emotions in music influence people's movement to music
Chia-Jung Tsay: The impact of visual cues on the judgment and perceptions of music performance
Selection panel: Reinhard Kopiez, Kate J. Stevens, Graham F. Welch
(For details on the selection process see: http://icmpc-escom2012.web.auth.gr/?q=awards)

ICMPC11 (Seattle, USA), sponsored by SEMPRE
Nadine Pecenka: The role of temporal prediction abilities in interpersonal sensorimotor synchronization
Honorable Mentions
Merle Theresa Fairhurst: FMRI investigation of dynamic cooperativity: Synchronised finger tapping with an adaptive “virtual partner”
Marco Lehmann: Influences of minority status and social identity on the elaboration of unfamiliar music by adolescents
James T. Mantell: Modular processing? Phonetic information facilitates speech and song imitation
Selection Panel: Lola L. Cuddy, Walter J Dowling, Andrea Halpern, Roger Kendall,
Graham Welch
(for details on the selection process see: http://depts.washington.edu/icmpc11/submit.html#YRA)

ICMPC10 (Sapporo, Japan), sponsored by SEMPRE and NAMM
Bruno Gingras: Effect of expressive intent, performer expertise, and listener expertise on the perception of artistic individuality in organ performance.
Bradley W. Vines: Stimulating music: Combining singing with brain stimulation to help stroke victims recover speech.
Honorable Mentions
Kat Agres: Musical change deafness: The inability to detect change in a non-speech auditory domain
Jessie Chen: Error corrections in skilled string players
Molly J. Henry: Perceived “closeness” in pitch depends in part on perceived “closeness” in time: Further support for an auditory motion hypothesis
Lassi A. Liikkanen: Music in every mind. Commonality of involuntary musical imagery.
Jessica Philips-Silver: Does amusic mean unmusical?
Kirk N. Olsen: Dynamic changes of intensity, duration and timbre: Effects on judged loudness and emotional arousal
Inbar Rothschild: How music touches: The effects of loudness, pitch, timbre and vibrato on listeners’ auditory-tactile metaphorical mapping
Selection Panel: James C. Carlsen (Chair), Lola L. Cuddy, Raymond MacDonald, Sandra E. Trehub, Graham F. Welch 
(For details on the selection process see page 20 of the Program: http://www.jsmpc.info/archives/icmpc10archive/program.html)

SEMPRE: http://www.sempre.org.uk/
NAMM: http://www.namm.org/